January 2019 – Concealed Carry Firearm Safety Course (Wisconsin & Illinois Residents)

Organizer

Balog Combat Systems

Website: https://www.eventbrite.com/o/balog-combat-systems-15176813198
Venue

Balog Combat Systems

114 Freeman Street, Genoa City, WI 53128

Genoa City, WI, US, 53128

Concealed Carry Courses for both Wisconsin & Illinois residents, Please read carefully. Each state has different standards and requirements and therefore pricing varies.


Earn your Concealed Carry Certificate!



What We Offer


BCSTACTICAL classes are comprehensive, using the Department of Justice & NRA training methods and provide hands-on learning opportunities in the following courses:



  • State-specific firearm safety training for concealed carry/permit to carry (including non-resident permits where available)

  • Women-only firearms classes with permit training

  • Level 1 firearms fundamental range training

  • Level 2 advanced marksmanship range training

  • Private class training available by request

  • Senior & Handicap safety classes available upon request


Request can be made by phone (844) 28TRAIN, email (admin@bcstactical.com), or our website (www.bcstactical.com).






WISCONSIN IS A 1-day (4 Hour) Course. We offer the option for Wisconsin residents to return the following day (Sunday) to participate in one on one/qualification with the Illinois residents, but it is not required for Wisconsin residents. There will be a $50 range fee and ammunition is not provided but can be purchased from an instructor if informed in advance.


The cost of the course is $80 pre-registered here through Eventbrite or $100 the day of, at the door.


Wisconsin Requirements:


      Be 21 years of age or older.


      Not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law.


      Not have been ordered as a condition of bail or release in a criminal case from possessing a dangerous weapon.


      Be a Wisconsin resident (as evidenced by a valid Wisconsin driver’s license or ID card), or be active military stationed in Wisconsin.


      Have provided proof of the firearms training required for a license.


https://www.doj.state.wi.us/sites/default/files/dles/ccw/ccw-faq%201-2018.pdf


WI CCW MAP


Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map by ConcealedCarry.com | Legal Disclaimer


*Note, after completing our concealed carry class you can use the class completion certificate to apply for your Florida and Arizona concealed carry permits also.


Our Concealed Carry Instructors are certified by the state of Wisconsin. Each instructor uses a uniform curriculum that covers vital Wisconsin CCW info in addition to the state minimums. Learn about each instructor’s individual qualifications by visiting their profile pages at www.bcstactical.com


You MUST Bring to the class WISCONSIN RESIDENTS ONLY:



  • Valid Wisconsin Drivers License/Identification Card


OPTIONAL ITEMS TO BRING:



  • A Firearm (both days). No magnum calibers, derringers, lasers, single action revolvers. A firearm should be cased and unloaded. If using a semi-automatic please bring 2-3 magazines

  • 100 rounds of ammunition. (Not included in class price) No Hollow points.

  • Hearing and Eye Protection


The cost of the class is $180 pre-registered here through Eventbrite or $200 the day of at the door.


Whats the processing time?


21 Days
They have 21 days from when they receive your application to process it. The 21 days also applies to renewals.


Wis. Stat. § 175.60(9)(b).





What if I lose my license?

You will need to file a replacement form with a $12 fee. A replacement license must be issued within 14 days of the Department receiving your application.



How long is a license valid?


Concealed Weapons licenses are valid for 5 years unless revoked.


Wis. Stat. § 175.60(15)(a).





Can I do an online training course?


No, online courses are not accepted.





What if I change my address?


You must notify the Department of Justice within 30 days that you have moved to a new address.


Wis. Stat. §175.60(11)(b)1.





I changed my name, now what do I do?


You will need to notify the DOJ within 30 days and file a change of name form with a $22 fee.





What types of weapons can I carry?


A CWL license allows a person to carry a handgun, electric weapon and billy club.





Do I need to carry my CWL License?


Yes, a person is required to carry the license whenever they are carrying a concealed weapon. They must also carry photographic ID.







######-END OF WISCONSIN INFORMATION-#####






######-START OF ILLINOIS INFORMATION-######


ILLINOIS IS A 2-day (16 Hour) Course that requires both classroom and range time. Our private range use and the fee is included in the price.


The cost of the class is $180 pre-registered here through Eventbrite or $200 the day of, at the door.


Illinois Requirements: 


      I am at least 21 years old.


      I have a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification card.


      I have not been convicted or found guilty of a misdemeanor involving the threat of physical force or violence to any person within the past 5 years.


      I do not have 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, intoxicating compounds within the past 5 years.


      I am not subject to a pending arrest warrant, prosecution or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm.


      I have not been in a residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past 5 years.


      You may be eligible if you satisfy the above and no objections are filed by law enforcement. (Section 15)


https://www.ispfsb.com/Public/CCL.aspx


If you have been considering getting an Illinois Concealed Carry Permit, now is the time to act. Currently, the Illinois CCW Permit is valid in 22 states and counting.



Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map by ConcealedCarry.com | Legal Disclaimer


*Note, after completing our concealed carry class you can use the class completion certificate to apply for your Florida and Arizona concealed carry permits also.


Our Concealed Carry Instructors are certified by the state of Illinois. Each instructor uses a uniform curriculum that covers vital Illinois CCW info in addition to the state minimums. Learn about each instructor’s individual qualifications by visiting their profile pages at www.bcstactical.com


You MUST Bring to the class:



  • A Firearm (both days). No magnum calibers, derringers, lasers, single action revolvers. A firearm should be cased and unloaded. If using a semi-automatic please bring 2-3 magazines

  • 100 rounds of ammunition. (Not included in class price) No Hollow points.

  • Hearing and Eye Protection

  • Valid FOID Card


The cost of the class is $180 pre-registered here through Eventbrite or $200 the day of, at the door.


Get the rest of your questions answered by visiting our Frequently Asked Questions page. Watch Educational Videos and Browse our Other Resources on the Resource Page.


FAQs


Concealed Carry License Applicant


Q: What is the cost for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
$150 for 5 years for Illinois residents
$300 for 5 years for out-of-state residents


Q: How does a citizen apply for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
In short, you must take a qualifying course, submit the appropriate paperwork, pay the fee, and pass the background check. Read our complete Illinois CCW Permit Application Guide for more details.


Q: How long will it take a citizen to obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
Upon receipt of a completed application, including fee, the ISP shall issue or deny the applicant an Illinois Concealed Carry License within 90 days, provided the applicant submits a full set of fingerprints in electronic format. If fingerprints are not submitted the ISP is granted an additional 30 days to complete a manual background check. In all cases, law enforcement agencies will have 30 days to file an objection once an application is received.


Q: Where can I go to be fingerprinted?
Concealed Carry License applicants who intend to submit fingerprints for non-criminal justice purposes must be fingerprinted by a licensed Illinois live scan vendor or registered law enforcement agency authorized to submit for Conceal Carry purposes. A list of licensed live scan fingerprint vendors is available at the following link:
https://www.idfpr.com/LicenseLookUp/fingerprintlist.asp This list is all-inclusive; accordingly, any vendor not on this list is not a Licensed Illinois Livescan Vendor. Prints from non-licensed vendors will not be accepted.


Q: The Act requires applicants to submit a photo taken within the past 30 days, will the photo be taken as part of the Fee Application for applicants who submit electronic fingerprints satisfy this requirement?
No. All applicants must submit a photo taken within the past 30 days even if they were photographed as part of their fingerprinting process.


Q: What are the qualifications for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
The applicant must:




  • Be at least 21 years of age




  • Have a currently valid FOID card (if an Illinois resident) (Read our Guide to FOID cards)




  • Is not prohibited under federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm




  • Have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of: Not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification



    • A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years

    • 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years





  • Not have been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years




  • Submit a completed Concealed Carry License application




  • Successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction. (More on this below)




Q: What type of firearm will I be allowed to carry concealed?


A “Concealed firearm” is defined, in relevant part, as a loaded or unloaded handgun. “Handgun” means any device which is designed to expel a projectile or projectiles by the action of an explosion, expansion of gas, or escape of gas that is designed to be held and fired by the use of a single hand.”Handgun” does not include:



  1. A stun gun or taser;

  2. A machine gun as defined in item (i) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012;

  3. A short-barreled rifle or shotgun as defined in item (ii) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012

  4. Any pneumatic gun, spring gun, paintball gun, or B-B gun which expels a single globular projectile not exceeding .18 inch in diameter, or which has a maximum muzzle velocity of fewer than 700 feet per second, or which expels breakable paint balls containing washable marking colors.


Q: Where can I learn more about denials and appealing denials?
Check our full guide for dealing with and appealing denials from ISP (Illinois State Police)


Q: Can out-of-state residents obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
Yes. However, only residents of states or territories of the United States that have laws related to firearm ownership, possession, and carrying, that are substantially similar to the requirements to obtain a license under the Firearm Concealed Carry Act are eligible. Check Our More Detailed Guide for Non-Illinois Residents here.


Q: Who needs an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
Everyone who wants to carry a concealed firearm on his/her person in Illinois is required to have an Illinois Concealed Carry License except current peace officers and retired police officers eligible under a federally approved retired officer concealed carry program such as the Illinois Retired Officer Concealed Carry (IROCC) Program. Retired officers may be eligible to carry under either the IROCC Program or the Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66).


Q: What other states honor the Illinois Permit?
The list of states that honor the permit is extensive and subject to change. Check the map on the home page of this website for a current list of states that honor the Illinois Concealed Weapon Permit.


Q: With my permit will I be allowed to open carry?
No. A handgun carried on or about a person must be concealed from view of the public or on or about a person within a vehicle.


Q: What is the parking lot exemption for CCL holders in prohibited places?
Any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the trunk of the vehicle, provided the licensee ensures the concealed firearm is unloaded prior to exiting the vehicle. This exception does not apply to any area where firearms are prohibited under federal law or to property regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission.


Q: Who can get credit for up to 8 hours of prior training (from either previous courses or experience)?
The statute provides that active, retired, and honorably discharged members of the United States Armed Forces shall be considered to have completed 8 hours of the 16-hour training requirement. Applicants who have completed a training course that is approved by the Department and recognized under the laws of another state may get up to 8 hours of training toward the 16-hour training requirement. Click on the link to view approved courses. https://www.isp.state.il.us/appriss/ccw/CCWPriorTrainingCredit.pdf